FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: July 21, 2020 CONTACT: Sabrina Galloway sabrina@mayorsharonwestonbroome.com 225.505.0200

## **Mayor-President Broome Launches Re-Election Campaign**

The Mayor-President Sharon Weston Broome campaign today announced the launch of her reelection bid for another term as Mayor-President of East Baton Rouge. In support of the reelection effort, the campaign has formed key committees and appointed staff that will serve as the catalyst for Mayor Broome's re-election bid.

In January, Mayor Broome delivered clear intentions to seek another term in office. Since that time, the Broome administration has been keenly focused on leading our city through the unprecedented times our nation and world is currently facing.

"My priority during these extraordinary times has been to do the job the citizens of Baton Rouge elected me to do and that is govern. I believe that the circumstances of the day highlight the need for steady and experienced leadership. That is why I have asked these community leaders to join our time to help spread the message and be the leading voices of our campaign as I work to ensure that our citizens are safe, our economy rebounds and that we continue achieving peace, prosperity and progress in Baton Rouge."

The campaign will be managed by political strategist Sabrina E. Galloway. The leadership team will be rounded out by Joshua G. Hollins and Donna Fraiche who will co-chair the campaign committee. The members of the committee will include:

Jan Bernard, Raymond Jetson, Dwayne Murray, Terrie Sterling, Al Perkins, Monique Spaulding, Perry Franklin, Collis Temple Jr., Belinda Davis, Matt Butler, Raina Vallot, TJ Jackson, Sevetri Wilson, Namisha Patel, Matt Adams, Franz Borghardt, Jason Hughes, Deborah Sternberg, Brian Lafleur, Michael Beychok, Trey Ourso, Sabrina Galloway, Katherine Lemelle, Carolyn Bergeron, Wendell Williams, Enola Williams, Kenya Jarmon, Sally Koch, Charlene Blackwell, Mary Judson, Linda Fontenot, Lynn Farris, AV Mitchell, Alfreda Bester, Kathy Fletcher Victorian, Sharon McKnight, Jeffrey LeFleur, April Hawthorne, Claudia Hawkins, Kaitlynn Fenley, Jon Chahere, Sherin Dawud, Ellen McKnight, Ryan Clark, Justin McClain, Calvin Mills, Boo Milton, Ben Jeffers, Dave Roberts, Kathy Victorian, Tonja Myles, Darren Myles, Justin Franklin, and Aniya Ingram

"We are pleased to join with the Mayor's team and support her re-election. Her management of City Parish government during times of crisis has been a strength of her administration." said Hollins We know that with Mayor Broome at the helm our parish can weather any storm and get through any crisis while continuing to grow stronger together." said Fraiche

Additionally, Mayor Broome has selected a finance committee that will work to ensure the necessary resources are in place for a successful campaign. Chaired by Kris Kirkpatrick, this committee will consist of:

Walter Monsour, Domoine Rutledge, Tim Hardy, Helena Cunningham, Stephanie Possa, Donna Fraiche, Jim Bernhard, and Scott Kirkpatrick

"I am elated to have this diverse group of business and community leaders lend their support and time to our campaign. As I keep my hands on the work of the city, I know that these individuals will be able to personally convey why we can't go back or change, we must continue going forward!"

Updates to these committees are expected as Mayor Broome's supports grows over the coming weeks. The campaign welcomes the involvement of all citizens of the parish to keep our city-parish moving forward.

Mayor Sharon Weston Broome was elected in 2016 and she will be a candidate for a second term on the November ballot.

Election Day is set for Thursday, November 3<sup>rd</sup>.

###